Race Report – Stellenbosch MTB Challenge

Finally! A positive race report!

It hasn’t been an easy season for me this year, adjusting to the Marathon racing scene and adjusting to my new training plan… I’m super stoked to finally see some sort of improvement after taking a top 10 Elite Men and a 44th overall finish at the Stellenbosch MTB Challenge.

I had a good lead up to the race, feeling quite fresh and well rested while keeping the fitness I gained the two weeks before. I might have gotten a little ahead of myself in the beginning, tackling the first climb with quite a lot of speed and power which lead to a mid-race ‘lull’ period but once I got over that, I started gaining a little more speed and momentum. The final climb bit me a bit as my legs were pretty much shot by then and lost some valuable time, but all in all I’m happy with my effort and my result. Hopefully I can keep this ‘momentum ball’ rolling for the next up and coming races!

Big thanks goes out to @DripDropSA and @CycleTeknix for the continued support!

#DoWhatYouLove #GetIt

Leave a Reply

