Race Report – Tulbagh Marathon

Experienced the true meaning of marathon racing this past weekend, taking part in the first round of the WP Marathon series in Tulbagh!

It was a long, dusty and rocky day with temperatures hitting well over 30’C even at 6.30am… The route covered 72km with only 1200m of elevation which in my mind didn’t look too demanding… but I was very wrong… I was feeling quite good and content with myself up until half way where the heat started getting to me and started losing momentum and eventually power, which made the last 15km the toughest 15km I’ve ever had to deal with, something I’ll never forget.

But it’s funny, even though I was in such a deep dark space and was in the #hurtbox, I’ve recovered and all I want to do is get back into race mode and test the limits once again! Looking forward to the 2nd round which will be in Grabouw in a month or two’s time, but for now the focus will be to prepare for the 50 miler and WP XCO Champs later this month!

Would just like to thank Drip Drop SA for supporting me and believing in me, hopefully I can get my proper racing legs soon so that I can race and perform at my best! Another big thanks goes out to the boys at Cycle Teknix for looking after my baby.(Bike)

#DoWhatYouLove #BeAtYourBest

Race Face
Leave a Reply

