Cape Town Cycle Tour MTB Challenge – Race Report

Not the result I was looking for, but so we learn from our mistakes…

This past weekend was the Cape Town Cycle Tour MTB Challenge, the first big ‘test’ of the year to see where I stand with my competitors. The route was proper good fun involving some fast sections, a few punchy climbs and some technical single track which was very similar to day 2 of the Simonsberg Fairtree Contour stage race that took place in February.

The route was 55km with +/-1500m elevation which was a good test of strength, fitness and endurance. I was hoping for a top 10 in my age group but due to a terrible start and cramping that was not possible finishing in a time of 3 hours and 3 minutes. The bad start meant I had to make my way from the back of the field to the front with surging sprint intervals that I ended up paying for just 4km from the finish laying in a bush suffering from cramp (both legs at the same time). I also was thinking too much about my result and forgot to eat and drink when I was supposed to which probably also played a role in the cramping…

A big thanks goes out to Cycle Teknix Social Cycling Club for all the motivation and encouragement and to Drip Drop SA for supporting me and for providing me with the special goods! #DrinkWhatWorks

Looking forward to a solid few weeks of training leading up to the next possible race which will be the 3rd round of the WP XCO series at Bloemendal at the end of March.

#DoWhatYouLove

Leave a Reply

