Weekly Update: Race Ready

Last week was the final week of training leading up to my first big race of the year, The Cape Town Cycle Tour MTB Challenge which takes place this coming Sunday.

I feel like my fitness and form is where I wanted it to be. The legs feel good and feeling confident to compete… In my age category that is… as I will most likely be racing alongside some quality local RSA riders and possibly a few Europeans, which is super exciting!

Last week’s training schedule consisted of a group ride up the N7, a 20x8sec sprint interval session that put me deep into the #HurtBox, a coffee ride to Camps Bay with a Killarney Crit training/racing session in the evening, an active recovery meander and a skills/XCO session to end it all off!

This week will be my ‘taper’ week, so no long hours or over excessive intervals. It will just be a week of spinning the legs and making sure they’re ready for action!

#DoWhatYouLove #EyeOnThePrize #WorkHard

Follow me on Twitter, Instagram and Strava

Leave a Reply

