The First Race Of The 2017 Season!

The Off-Season and Pre-Season training is busy coming to an end with my first race of the season kicking off this weekend.

Compared to last years (2016) Off-Season and Pre-Season training, I feel a lot more confident in my ability to compete and I feel as fit and healthy as ever besides a few little knee niggles that I picked up after running and after I hit the deck a few weekends back.

But yeah, looking forward to kicking off the season with a stage race, my first stage race ever and looking forward to competing in the marathon discipline whereas in the last two season’s I’ve been competing in the half marathon’s.

Seeing as this year is my first stage race and marathon year, I’ve decided to not be too hard on myself to get results and to rather take it as a learning curve to gain the valuable experience and to build up the endurance and that #SufferScore to compete at a higher level in a year or two’s time.

This weekend’s race will be in the Stellenbosch area, Simonsberg where I’ll be spending around 3 – 4 hours, probably closer to 4 hours in the saddle both on the Saturday and the Sunday. I look forward to seeing where my form is at with my first big race being the Cape Town Cycle Tour MTB Challenge which takes place early March. In previous year’s I’ve done fairly well getting podium spots in my age category, so would like to be on form for this year’s marathon.

#BornToBeFast #DoWhatYouLove

fairtree-day1-long
Stage 1
fairtree-day2-long
Stage 2
2017 Base Training
2017 Base Training
Leave a Reply

